Thankful Thursday

Today I am thankful for. . .

  1. . . .the kind way that the dental assistant treated N when he had get some of his baby teeth pulled.  She was confident in her work, but also sensistive to his feelings.  Unfortunately, everything didn’t go quite as planned, and one tooth was wedged in so tight that he did feel some pain when it came out.  But her kindness towards him, in my opinion, made the situation a lot better.
  2. . . . R, who made L a costume for tonight (it’s Halloween!!).  I’ve been procrastinating getting something out of the attic for her, and last night R showed me a wizard’s hat and wand that she had made from this book.  She also described exactly what else she would do for L’s costume.  I was so grateful for her help!
  3. . . . modern medicine.  My two girls had strep throat at the beginning of this week, and because of antibiotics, they were able to recover and get back to their lives very quickly.
  4. . . . big fluffy clouds against a bright blue sky.  It doesn’t look this way outside right now, but it did a lot this past summer.  I found myself listing this again and again while “counting my blessings.”  I think it’s beautiful and cheerful, even in memory.
  5. . . . Autumn — I love the colors, the smells, the flavors (pumpkin, apple and spices), and the crunchy leaves.

Reflections:

Do you ever feel envious of the accomplishments of others?  I do!  Sometimes it is so easy to feel like other people have everything figured out when I don’t, or that I’m being left behind somehow.  I read this Ensign article just yesterday and I loved how expressing gratitude helped the author overcome her feelings of envy.  She said:

Expressing gratitude is more than just a good habit or nice manners. When I expressed gratitude to the Lord and to others, I was empowered. I found myself being excited for [others] when they had success instead of being jealous (see Alma 29:14, 16). I was more able to focus on what I had and what went right rather than what I lacked and what went wrong.

I learned that gratitude is the antidote to comparing ourselves to others. Those times when I didn’t feel [successful] usually came because I told myself, “I’m not doing as well as they are,” or, “They are better at this than I am.”

So, the next time you feel like you don’t measure up to people around you, try making a list of a few things you are grateful for, or better still, write someone a “thank you note” to someone who has done something nice for you!

What are you thankful for today?  Feel free to share in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

