Thankful Thursday & Vegetarian Chili Recipe

Today I am thankful for . . .

. . . good friends who invited L and me to be part of their “Letter of the Week” group.  Today we did “A is for Alligator.”

. . . the man who gave juice boxes to all of the young trick-or-treaters last week.  When we were trick-or-treating, L became thirsty.  Of course I was not prepared with any water or anything for her – not even in the car.  So I told her we wouldn’t be much longer and I’d get her something as soon as we got home.  But she persisted in saying how thirsty she was and even asked, “can we ask someone at the next house if they can give me something to drink?”  Being among strangers, I, of course, said “no.”  But it just so happened that at the next house a man put a juice box in her pumpkin basket!  When I happily explained what good timing that was, he said, “I like to give juice boxes to all of the little ones.”  She drank it all up right then; I guess she really was thirsty.

. . . the clear sky tonight.  I went to the grocery store after dinner, and noticed how clearly I could see the moon and the stars.  They were so bright tonight!

. . . My sister Felicia’s vegetarian chili.  I needed something fast and that used ingredients that I had on hand for dinner tonight, and her chili recipe was perfect!  It was easy and tasted great too!  Do you want to try it?  Great!  I’ll include the recipe below.  {I’m sure she won’t mind :)}

My Sister Felicia’s Vegetarian Chili (from “Get Cooking” by Mollie Katzen)

Ingredients:
2 Tbsp olive oil
1 medium red or yellow onion, minced
1 Tbsp chili powder
2 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp salt
1 medium carrot, diced
1 medium stalk celery, diced
1 Tbsp cider vinegar
1 Tbsp minced garlic (about 3 good-sized cloves)
1 small bell pepper (any color), diced
3 15-oz cans red kidney beans (about 5 cups cooked beans)
1 28-oz can crushed tomatoes
1 15-oz can diced tomatoes
Up to 1/4 tsp black pepper

Directions:

1.  Place a soup pot over medium heat.  After about a minute, add the olive oil and swirl to coat the pan.  Ad the onion, clhili pwder, cumin, and 1/4 tsp of the salt.  Cook, stirring occasionally, for about 5 minutes, or until the onion softens.

2.  Stir in the carrot, celery, and remaining 1/2 tsp salt, and reduce the heat to medium-low.  Cook, stirring occasionally, for about 15 minutes, or until the vegetables are very soft.

3.  Add the vinegar, garlic, and bell pepper.  Cook for another 5 minutes, stirring often.  Meanwhile, set a colander in the sink and pour in the beans; give them a quick rinse and allow them to drain.

4.  Add the beans and the crushed and diced tomatoes (with all their liquid) to the pot.  Bring to a boil, then turn the heat all the way down to the lowest possible setting.  Cover the pot with the lid slightly askew and simmer gently, stirring occasionally, for 15 minutes.

5.  Grind in some black pepper to taste, and serve hot.

What are you thankful for today?

2 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday & Vegetarian Chili Recipe

  1. sunshine .. we won’t get it much longer. Winter is coming. =(
    banana bread . so yummy warm with a little butter.
    Ham … it’s yummy to eat and then I use the bone to make stock and make yummy potato soup.
    sisters ..enough said.

Leave a Reply

