Thankful Thursday – A Season of Thanks Followed by a Season of Giving

We had our Stake Conference a couple of Sundays ago and a lady that I do not know sang the song “Because I Have Been Given Much.”  She had a really pretty voice and the version she sang was slightly different (in a good way) than the original. It was really beautiful!  I wish I had a video recording of it so I could post it, but since I don’t, you’ll just have to take my word for it.  As she sang the last line of the final verse, “thus shall my thanks be thanks, indeed” I thought to myself “isn’t it neat, that in our culture we have Thanksgiving followed by Christmas? A season of giving thanks followed by a season of giving to others.”

My Stake President gave us an assignment at the Saturday Night Session of Stake Conference. It was to do something nice for a neighbor. (I think he was hungry b/c most of his suggestions involved food 🙂 ). But he told about how his wife has many times taken brownies or pie to different neighbors on their street, and how that has helped them build positive neighbor relations.  He also said that sometimes they have included a CD of the Mormon Tabernacle Choir in with their gift, and many recipients told them that it was their favorite Christmas CD to listen to!

So it is true – I “have been given much” in the way of a great family, good friends, good health, and all of my needs to be met.  And most especially because of my knowledge of the restored gospel of Jesus Christ.  And so, as I (and we) give to others this Christmas Season, “our thanks will be thanks indeed.”

Following are two recipes that I plan to prepare and give to others in the next couple of weeks.  I’m going to provide a link for the first recipe, and type in the second.

Molasses Cookies

http://www.joyofbaking.com/MolassesCookies.html

Notes:
Our family loves these Molasses Cookies!  And I think they are a unique cookie to give to people, but they still seem “Christmasy.”  Our list is growing longer all the time of who we want to give these cookies to.  My kids’ teachers are included in that list!

Cranberry Salsa

Ingredients:
1 bag of fresh cranberries
juice of 1 – 2 limes (or juice and zest 1 lime)
1 bunch of green onions
1/2 – 2/3 c. sugar
1 small can of diced mild green chilis
1 cup of cilantro

Directions:
Pulse cranberries, green onions, and cilantro in a food processor to chop.  Combine in a bowl with rest of the ingredients.  Serve over a block of cream cheese with crackers.

Notes:
This recipe is from my sister-in-law.  She has made it many times as an appetizer for our Thanksgiving dinner.  It is super yummy!  (It’s also very good on turkey sandwiches!).  My plan is to make some, and put it in a pint-sized canning jar with a pretty bow.  Then I’ll add the jarred salsa, some cream cheese, and crackers along with the recipe together in a basket to give as a gift. (I’ll probably add a side-note stating that the salsa has not been “canned” and does need to be refrigerated!)

What do you like to give to your friends and neighbors at this time of year?

Leave a Reply

