Thankful Thursday – “O Christmas Tree, O Christmas Tree . . .”

Today’s post will be short.  I haven’t had time to write today partly because I was at the Church this morning helping to decorate for our Relief Society Christmas Dinner tomorrow evening.  I did not help plan this; others have worked very hard on that end.  But I did get to help a little today, and the benefit was that I got a bit of a preview of what it will look like tomorrow evening!  It will be beautiful!  I guess you could say that I’m grateful for those who put their effort into making a nice evening for us all.

But the theme of this post is our Christmas tree.  I’m thankful for . . .

. . . the tree.  We just purchased a new (artificial) tree last Christmas, and  I really like it!  It is thinner than most trees.  This is good for us, because we don’t have much space.  It is also tall, with only about a foot of space from the top of the tree to our ceiling.  And, it looks as close to real as any artificial tree I’ve ever seen.  I think it is really pretty.

. . . the ornaments.  I think it is fun every year to pull out the ornaments.  Each one has a memory – either of the person who gave it, or where I was living/what I was doing when I purchased it.  It’s like a trip down memory lane every December!  And, I think they are pretty.

. . . happy helpers to decorate it.  My kids are old enough to decorate the tree now.  They did most of it on their own!  My son even hung up the stockings for me.  I have to admit that, while I enjoy looking at it, I don’t always enjoy the job of hanging all of the ornaments.  So, it was great that they wanted to (and were able to) do it!

. . . my husband, who decided to wrap most of the gifts that we had purchased.  After it was all decorated, he wanted to see some presents under it.  So he asked, “do you have any presents that I can wrap?”  Hooray!  Help with wrapping presents!  He did most of them.

What Christmas decorations do you love?

Leave a Reply

