Thankful Thursday – I’m thankful for my Savior!

 

Christmas is less than one week away!!  So it seems fitting to share how grateful I am for the Savior of the world.  I’m grateful for. . .

. . . His birth.  It is significant to me that He was born in a lowly stable.  Doctrine and Covenants 88:6 says,

“He that ascended up on high, as also he descended below all things, in that he comprehended all things, that he might be in all and through all things, the light of truth;”

His descending “below all things” began right at his birth!  His family was poor; He grew up very ordinary.  He experienced the challenges of everyday life just like we all do.  And yet, He is the “King of Kings, and Lord of Lords!

. . . His life.  He lived a perfect life, completely free from any sin or wrong doing.  He set the example for how we should live ours.  He also spent his time teaching the Gospel, showing compassion to others, and testifying of His divinity and mission on earth.   I’m so glad that all of this is recorded in the scriptures, so that I can read, study, and learn about how to follow his example and teachings.

. . . His Sacrifice.  As my family has been learning a little more about the Savior this month, my kids have begun to grasp some of the harsh realities associated with His Sacrifice.  Once my daughter stated, as we read about His crucifixion in the scriptures, “but that’s mean!”  Yes, “mean.”  Yes, “terrible.”  The Savior suffered inexpressible agony, both in the Garden of Gethsemane and on the Cross.  These are His own words describing the experience from Doctrine and Covenants 19:16, 18.

“. . . how sore you know not, how exquisite you know not, yea, how hard to bear you know not.

For behold, I, God, have suffered these things for all, that they might not suffer if they would repent;. . .

Which suffering caused myself, even God, the greatest of all, to tremble because of pain, and to bleed at every pore, and to suffer both body and spirit — and would that I might not drink the bitter cup, and shrink–“

But He did it with a purpose – enabling each of us to be able to repent of our own wrongdoings and ultimately be able to return to live with our Father in Heaven again. To me this is an amazing gift!  I never have to be stuck in past mistakes, because I can always repent and move forward in my life with peace and hope.

. . . His Resurrection.  I think that the death of a loved one has to be one of the most (if not the most) difficult trials that any of us face in life.  We miss them, and we don’t really understand where they are or what they are doing.  My sister-in-law’s oldest daughter has been away at college for her very first semester these past few months.  He school is far away enough that she wasn’t able to come home for Thanksgiving.  My sister-in-law missed her a lot on Thanksgiving Day, but instead of dwelling on that, her focus was on being able to have her home again during the Christmas break.  This is the hope that the Savior’s Resurrection promises us!  It is normal and ok to grieve when our loved ones die, because we miss them.  But we can also look forward with hope to the time when we will see them again, and not just in spirit!  Because Jesus was resurrected and received a perfect body, we have the promise that we will also.

“And if Christ had not risen from the dead, or have broken the bands of death that the grave should have no victory, and that death should have no sting, there could have been no resurrection.

But there is a resurrection, therefore the grave hath no victory, and the sting of death is swallowed up in Christ” (Mosiah 16:7-8)

This is my testimony of the Savior.  I know that He lives and that He loves me.  I’m so grateful for the Christmas season every year that helps me to focus on Him a little bit more.

2 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday – I’m thankful for my Savior!

  1. I think you have captured the REAL meaning of Christmas. It’s not His birth that we celebrate but what He did with His life. I hope you won’t mind that I posted a link to this on my Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

