2014 New Years Resolutions

When I started this blog, I did not intend it to be for the purpose of goal setting.  I simply wanted a place to write about random stuff that is on my mind.  But it seems that wanting to improve myself is a major part of that “random stuff.”  After two months (November and December) of recording my goals and results, I decided that I like using my blog for this.  Many people say that a key to successful goal-setting is having someone to report to, and this blog serves that purpose pretty well for me.  It also gives me a place to write about things that I have learned or am learning about these particular subjects, which also could be good motivation for completing them.

This year I’m going to do what I haven’t done in a long time  — set New Year’s Resolutions.  I remember doing it as a teenager, but after several years of not keeping my resolutions, I gave up on the idea.  I remember “keep my room” was on the list every year!  The funny thing is that this “goal” (even if it is only in my head!) hasn’t changed much over the years – only now it has expanded to “keeping the whole house clean (Ha! Ha!)!  But I decided that I’m ready to set some formal resolutions again.  So here they all are:

The Year 2014

(Note:  As the year has gone by I have found it needful to reduce my goals from 5 to 3.  See this post for the update!)

1.  Take better care of my health.  I read on another blog that the three pillars of health are sleep, exercise, and proper diet.  Also, good emotional health is important to me.  I was just talking to my husband about ways to manage my personal stress, and he had some good insights that I could use to set goals with.

2.  Manage my time better by procrastinating less and being a little more organized in my approach to my work.

3.  Declutter my home and get organized!!  This is always an informal goal of mine.  But recently I haven’t been making the progress that I would like.  I would like in the year 2014 to reduce the visible clutter in my home by means of throwing away, putting away, or in some cases creating homes for things where one is currently non-existent.

4.  “Be of good cheer” more!  Lately my older daughter has been asking me to smile more.  (It’s funny the things children notice, isn’t it?).  She says that she feels so much better when I’m smiling.  I guess the “frown” on my face comes from concentrating on what I’m doing.  But I can see that it would be good for my family (and me!) to smile more and be more cheerful.

5.  Listen to my family better.  Again, I’m so concentrated on what I need/want to get done, that I am not always listening to what people want to say to me as well as I would like to.

Now, I know what you are thinking.  The first three goals are the same ones that everyone sets in January.   Well, my response is that I don’t have anything against going with the crowd as long as the crowd is going in the direction that I want to go!

Well, that’s it!  I really hope I can see this through this year!  If nothing else, it will give me lots of topics to write on my blog about! 🙂

Do you have any New Year’s Resolutions?

10 thoughts on “2014 New Years Resolutions

  1. Pingback: Some Thoughts on Stress and Burnout | littlemissdebbie28

  2. Pingback: A Change in my January Goals | littlemissdebbie28

  3. Pingback: January’s Progress Report for my New Year’s Resolutions | littlemissdebbie28

  4. Pingback: Rebellion | littlemissdebbie28

  5. Pingback: 2 Simple Solutions for Those Who Struggle to Keep Schedules and Routines | littlemissdebbie28

  6. Pingback: One Source of Negative Emotions (in regards to work) | littlemissdebbie28

  7. Pingback: 8 Reasons to “Be of Good Cheer!” (from the scriptures) | littlemissdebbie28

  8. Pingback: Why my 2014 Goals are not S.M.A.R.T. | littlemissdebbie28

  9. Pingback: My Thoughts on “Real Food” | littlemissdebbie28

  10. Pingback: Simplifying my Goals Using “The Rule of 3″ | littlemissdebbie28

Leave a Reply

