Why my 2014 Goals are not S.M.A.R.T.

You’ve probably heard of S.M.A.R.T. goals before.  These are goals that are defined as being:

  • Specific
  • Measuarable
  • Attainable
  • Relevant
  • Time-bound

So, let’s take a look at my 2014 goals.*

1.  Take better care of my health.  I read on another blog that the three pillars of health are sleep, exercise, and proper diet.  Also, good emotional health is important to me.

2.  Manage my time better by procrastinating less and being a little more organized in my approach to my work.

3.  Declutter my home and get organized!!  I would like in the year 2014 to reduce the visible clutter in my home by means of throwing away, putting away, or in some cases creating homes for things where one is currently non-existent.

4.  “Be of good cheer” more!

5.  Listen to my family better.

I feel like these goals are attainable, relevant to my needs and my life, and the time frame I have specified is 1 year.  I also feel like for the most part they are specific, and clearly defined (though some are more-so than others).  So, they are pretty close.  But, they are definitely not measurable.  On each one the only thing I have said is that I want to be better than I am now.  Exactly how does one measure that?

They don’t – and I’m glad.  I’ve learned time and time again that when I set measurable goals, that I fail at them (see this post and this one, and this one too if you don’t believe me!!).  Even if I improve over where I was, I still fail at the goal.

And, I don’t like that feeling.

What I do like is celebrating small steps towards improvement.  I originally set these goals based on my feelings.  (i.e. I felt dissatisfied about myself in these areas).  So, on December 31, 2014, I will be measuring whether I kept them based on the progress that I personally feel I have made.

Does that make sense?  It does to me, and it takes so much pressure off of myself to simply say that by the end of the year I want to be better than I was at the beginning!  Now, that’s attainable, and in my opinion, that’s also very SMART!

*Note: I copied and pasted the goals, but deleted some explanations as to why I want to do them in order to make them less wordy.
5 thoughts on “Why my 2014 Goals are not S.M.A.R.T.

    • Yes, someone mentioned the term in a conversation I had a little more than a year ago. I hadn’t heard of it before either, and so looked the phrase up to see what it meant. I actually do really think it describes effective goal setting very well — I guess that sounds contradictory to what I wrote in the post, but like you said it can be good to break the rules sometimes!

  1. Sounds smart to me too. You eat the elephant one bite at a time but you don’t have to measure the size of the bites.

  2. Pingback: My 2014 Goals – Defined in Greater Detail | littlemissdebbie28

Leave a Reply

