The First Day of Spring (plus other things I’m thankful for)

Today I’m thankful for . . .

1.  . . . the first day of spring!  I love spring because of the warmer weather, the leaves start growing back on the trees, flowers everywhere, and planning and working in the garden.

2.  . . . our letter of the week group, which I went to today.  Some of my friends who have preschool-age kids get together once a week (or so) for “letter of the week.”  The kids do a simple craft that the hostess prepares.  Then they go play while us moms talk for a bit.  It’s fun –  it’s good for my little girl, and good for me.  Here are some letters we’ve done so far that I have hung up on our kitchen cabinets.  T for tree, L for lamp, V for vase, H for hands, C for cars, and M for marshmallows.  Don’t ask where the missing marshmallows went.  My little one said that they must have fell off and went under the refrigerator (hmmm. . . this was when I started hanging the crafts on the kitchen cabinets – lol).  Today was “T” for tree.  She put some of the “leaves” on the “T” tree, but she told me that the ones above it are rain.

Letter of the week, T, L, V, HLetter of the week, C, M

3.  . . . running hot water.  OK, so this is a little random, but seriously – this morning I found myself thinking about how great it is to be able to turn on the faucet, or the shower, or the bath and have hot water immediately.  Not everyone through-out time has been able to say they could do that!

4.  . . . the little spiral bound notebook I found last night.  Last night I woke up due to my sinuses bothering me.  When I got up to take some advil (for the pain) I thought of something I wanted to make a note of.  So I looked for a piece of paper to write on, and found a small spiral notebook that I hadn’t used in a long time.  When I opened it for a piece of paper, I saw some notes I had taken back in September/October of last year.  Some were from the Relief Society General Broadcast, some from a Stake Primary Presidency training meeting, and some from Stake Conference.  Then I saw several lists I had made:  a list of things I was grateful for, followed by a list of things I felt I had done that were good to do, and a list of things I like about each one of my children.  As I sat there in the quiet hours of the night with everyone asleep, re-reading these notes, I had a calm feeling that I’m doing ok, and that I have many blessings.  I tend to worry a lot about certain things, and so this reassurance was very good for me.

5. . . . a new (to me) book by Margaret Wise Brown.  I’ve loved the book “Big Red Barn” for years.  It has really been one of my very favorite children’s books.  Today, my little girl chose a book from the library called “Bunny’s Noisy Book.”  When I was reading it to her before bed, I thought to myself that it reminded me a little bit of “Big Red Barn.”  Then I looked at the author.  Of course!  It’s by the same author.  What a fun little book.  I love good children’s stories.

I love this quote from Bonnie D. Parkin.  She said,

Gratitude is a Spirit-filled principle. It opens our minds to a universe permeated with the richness of a living God. Through it, we become spiritually aware of the wonder of the smallest things, which gladden our hearts with their messages of God’s love. This grateful awareness heightens our sensitivity to divine direction. When we communicate gratitude, we can be filled with the Spirit and connected to those around us and the Lord. Gratitude inspires happiness and carries divine influence. “Live in thanksgiving daily,” said Amulek, “for the many mercies and blessings which he doth bestow upon you.” 

What are you thankful for today?

2 thoughts on “The First Day of Spring (plus other things I’m thankful for)

  1. OK I’m totally late, but I’m thankful for heat in my van. My heater wasn’t working back in the fall, and I don’t think I would have survived this winter without it. I’m also thankful for Vitamin D. Happy Happy! =)

Leave a Reply

