Chicken Tortilla Soup

There are tons of tortilla soups floating around out there, but the recipe I’m sharing today is different from any of the others I’ve ever seen.  What makes it unique is that it is seasoned with dried basil (as opposed to taco-type seasoning), and topped with mozzarella cheese – 2 very important and tasty details!  This soup has been a favorite of mine for about 20 years now.  It was given to me by a friend when I was about 20 years old (I’ll let you do the math on my age – as long as you promise not to tell! 🙂 )

Chicken Tortilla Soup

Ingredients:
1 medium onion, chopped
1 green bell pepper, chopped
1 clove garlic, chopped
2 Tbsp vegetable oil
2 c. cooked chicken
4 c. chicken broth
3/4 tsp dried basil
1/8 tspg round red pepper (add more if you like it spicy)
salt and pepper to taste
1 (10-oz) can tomato puree
1 (15-oz) can diced tomatoes
Tortilla chips
Shredded Mozzarella cheese

Directions:
Saute onion, pepper, and garlic in oil.  Add chicken broth and other ingredients (except the tortilla chips and cheese).  Heat to a boil; simmer uncovered for 30 minutes.

Assembly:
Put tortilla chips in a bowl, ladle soup over them, then sprinkle the mozzarella cheese on top.

 

Chicken Tortilla Soup 3

Place the tortilla chips in the bowl first.

Chicken Tortilla Soup 2

Ladle the soup on top of the chips.

Chicken Tortilla Soup

Sprinkle the mozzarella cheese on top. Yum!

One final note:  The 10-oz can of tomato puree provides the perfect tomato-sauce consistency for this soup.  For awhile I had a hard time finding it, so I tried buying the bigger can and guesstimating the amount (freezing the rest).  Then I tried tomato sauce.  Now my stores sell the small tomato puree again, and it really is perfect.

Do you have a favorite recipe that you’ve had for years?

6 thoughts on “Chicken Tortilla Soup

  1. We make it and put Doritoes on top with Chedder Cheese. That soup is just yummy anyway you serve it. Everyone here LOVES it. I smiled just looking at it. btw I LOVE the step by step photos Miss Fancy!

    • I really had fun taking those photos! You are right – it is a good soup anyway you serve it, and I bet the Doritos taste really good with it! When I served it to a friend of mine a few years ago I used the lime flavored tortilla chips and we both loved it that way too.

    • Hi Mindy! It’s good to hear from you!! It’s been a long time since we talked! I don’t think I realized that you were friends with Gwen on Facebook, but she said that she is going to give you my info . . . she also said told me that she posted this on Facebook so you could see! You have no idea how far your recipe has traveled. Everyone that I make it for loves it. It’s one of those that I can always have confidence in. Be sure to send me an e-mail or call; I’d love to hear from you!!

Leave a Reply

