“I am a Child of God”

This past Saturday I attended the General Women’s Meeting at my local church building with my 10 yr-old daughter.  I was really excited when I heard the announcement that now all women and girls 8 yrs-old and up would be attending these meetings together.

In anticipation, I expected a few things – first, I expected that I would love the meeting, and second, I expected that those who planned it would present it in a way that would be appealing to the younger girls attending.  And I was absolutely correct!

But I did not expect that the choir would have the primary-age children singing by themselves for part of the time, and I did not expect that they would ask all of the Primary age children (even those not in the choir) to sing “Teach me to Walk in the Light.”  I really loved this part, and found myself being a little teary-eyed (actually I was teary-eyed for most of the meeting, but it started here).

It was a very uplifting meeting, and I was so grateful to be able to attend with my daughter.  And so, as inspired by this, today I’m thankful for . . .

1.  . . . my daughter being able to attend the meeting with me.

It was fun for us to be able to do something with just the two of us.  It seems that we usually have either her brother or sister (or both), along whenever we go somewhere.  So, we enjoyed the one on one time.

Also, she really liked the meeting!  She said she loved the music and that she “actually understood what they were saying.”  I said, “Did you like the videos?,” to which she responded enthusiastically, “Oh yes, I forgot about those!”

2.  . . . my youth leaders for teaching me to take notes during General Conference.

When I turned 12, the youth leaders were actively encouraging all the youth to attend all sessions of General Conference and to take notes.  Most of them responded very well, and so even though these leaders were released shortly after I became part of the group, I followed the example of the older girls and did the same.  I have always been so grateful for this!

I love taking notes during these meetings (when I don’t have little ones on my lap trying to take my pen and paper away from me – lol).  I mean, I do realize that they will be printed later for me to read, but I get so much out of my own notes!  I not only write down what stands out to me from the talks, but my own impressions and thoughts as well.

3.  . . .the reminder that I am a precious daughter of Heavenly Father.

Those who attended the meeting will remember that they often spoke of us all being daughters of our Heavenly Father.  Though we may have different interests and talents, and even be different ages, we all share this in common.  I loved the video of different women as they sang “I am a child of God,” and it reminded me of one I had seen awhile ago at lds.org.

So, of course I had to include it today.  I seriously love this video and have watched it so many times.  My favorite part is at the end where they sing “I am a child of God,” and then the words appear on the screen “And so are YOU!”

Happy Thankful Thursday!  Don’t forget to count you blessings today!

4 thoughts on ““I am a Child of God”

  1. I LOVED that meeting. Aryel can’t wait until she can go. That meeting was so amazing and inspiring and even though I cried the whole time it was a good cry. I’m thankful for my MP3 Player so I can listen to it again and again and again. =)

  2. I’m glad to hear I was the only teary eyed person watching. My daughters thought something was wrong with me as I kept wiping away tears all night long. I loved it. It was such an inspiring event. I can’t wait for my youngest to turn eight so she can go too!

    • You definitely were not the only one! After the meeting I turned around to talk to the person behind me, and there were tears in her eyes too… it was that kind of meeting, I guess (which is a good thing). That will be nice when you can attend with all of your daughters! The best kind of “girls night out!”

Leave a Reply

