“It Is Usually Through Another Person That He Meets Our Needs”

President Spencer W. Kimball once said, “God does notice us, and he watches over us. But it is usually through another person that he meets our needs. Therefore, it is vital that we serve each other.”  I feel like I saw this quote in action this week through several different people, and I am thankful for all of them!

Why I’m thankful for my friend

For the past few days I’ve been thinking about what I would write about for “Thankful Thursday” today,  but nothing has seemed quite right.  Also, I’ve had a lot other stuff I’ve been needing to do this week.  So, between those two obstacles I thought that maybe I would just skip it today.

But then, a friend of mine showed up at my door this morning completely out of the blue.  She had come out of her way (I’m in the country, so it was really out of her way!) to bring me my family two freezer meals and some Rice Krispie Treats!!  It was so unexpected!  She explained that this very kind gesture was prompted by a Sunday School lesson which she had taught this past week.   So after she left, I knew that I had to write today and say how thankful I am that I have such a kind-hearted friend!  

Why I’m thankful for my daughter

Yesterday, I was bothered by some things, so in the middle of the day I said a prayer about what was on my mind.  My 4 yr-old daughter came looking for me, and when she saw me praying asked what I was praying about.  I responded, “oh, nothing too much.”  Then she said the most surprising thing – “But Mom, if you are praying, it’s because you want Jesus to help you with something.  So, what is it that you are asking Jesus to do for you?”  I was so surprised, and amazed by this!  Kids really do understand a lot more than we give them credit for sometimes!  I told her that (among other things) I felt like I have a lot of work that I need to do, and was asking for help to be able to do it.  Her response to this was – “I will help you with your work!  I will load the dishwasher for you!”  So sweet, right?

Her good intentions gave way to her 4 yr-old attention span, so she really did more playing than loading, but I was so grateful that she was aware of my feelings and wanted to lift my burden!  I told her last night before bed that she had done just what Jesus would have done – and that she did a good job of “trying to be like Jesus.”  Her whole face lit up, and she said, “I did?  I am?”

Why I’m thankful for the Sister Missionaries

On Tuesday I was trying to make a detailed menu plan for my family which would be for all meals of the day and include all of the food groups.  I was attempting to think of several meals that I could just rotate through, so that I don’t have to keep “re-inventing the wheel” every day.  When I started the project in the morning, I thought it might take a couple of hours – but it was taking much longer than this, and I was getting frustrated.  At the same time, I didn’t want to quit, because I really wanted a finished product that day.  So I just kept working at it.

Around lunch-time, the Sister Missionaries called.  They said that they were going to meet with one of my neighbors at 1:00, and would I like to come?  They told me later that they knew it was last minute, and so almost didn’t call, but then decided to just try anyway.  And to be honest, I’m really glad now that they did. . .  but in the moment I felt a little bit of apprehension about putting off this project.  As I said, I just wanted it to be done, so that I could move on to other things.

But I said “yes” to them, and after I hung up tried to guess in my own mind which neighbor we were going to see.  When they showed up I was delighted to find out that we were going to see my children’s bus driver who lives at the end of the road!  I really like their bus driver; she’s wonderful!  But I’ve never been to visit her.

When we got to her front porch, I was very surprised to see the view of my neighborhood from her house!  It was so beautiful and amazing!  She lives up on a hill – just a little hill – but enough of one to see for a long ways.  I just loved it, and was really happy.  I thought to myself that if I lived in her house, I would want to sit on the front porch all the time just to look at everything!

But she wasn’t at home, so I didn’t get to visit with her . . . maybe next time?  But still, the outing turned out to be really good for me.  It got my daughter and me out of the house; we walked, so I got some exercise; and I was able to visit with the Sister Missionaries, which I enjoyed (and they seemed happy too).  Also, when I went back to work on my “menu project,” I realized that it was “good enough” and I that didn’t need to do much else to it.  I added a couple more things, and printed it out.

And so, I’m thankful for the Sister Missionaries for being brave enough to ask me to come with them at the last minute, and for the service they are giving by teaching others about our church.

When have you seen the Lord meet your needs through another person?

Leave a Reply

