Boot Camp Journal – Day 5 {When the Going Gets Tough . . .}

This is the journal I am keeping about our “health(ier) eating boot camp.”  Feel free to read along!  

Thursday, July 3

My kids were looking at my blog this morning and they suggested that instead of titling each post Part I, II, etc, that I should title them Day 1, 2, etc.  So I’m taking the suggestion and have re-titled them all.

They also objected to me telling details about them when I describe our family’s experience.  So I actually just deleted the entire post that I had written about yesterday.  But I will say that yesterday was a challenging day and that my kids were feeling pretty hungry even though I had been preparing meals for them.  I found myself at the end wondering if this boot camp is a good idea.  There are so many obstacles!  For example:

  • The time it takes to plan, shop for, and prepare balanced meals
  • Having to constantly stop other things I’m doing in order to prepare, eat, and clean up from meals
  • At least one child seems to feel some anxiety every time we sit down to eat
  • Having to pay close attention to if everyone is eating their “3 bites.”
  • And now…watching them be very hungry (and still not eat their food).

This is stressful!!  And so last night as I was preparing for bed I found myself thinking, “am I doing the right thing?”  And this morning after a conversation I had with one child, I found myself thinking again, “am I doing the right thing?”  But I continue to feel that the answer is “yes.”   So, I’m moving forward with this, but I will do my best to take people’s feelings and preferences into account.

 

2 thoughts on “Boot Camp Journal – Day 5 {When the Going Gets Tough . . .}

  1. It looks like your family is with you on this so look for ways that you can adapt to their legitimate concerns. The focus should probably be a “healthier” diet with the understanding that a little junk food isn’t going to kill anyone. It’s the diets focused on junk food that are the killers.

    Published guidelines are simply averages. Nobody is exactly average. Some people need more some people need less. Fats are concentrated energy foods. Active people, like teen agers, can burn that fat for energy. It’s the couch potatoes that don’t burn up the fat that need to restrict their fat intake. Metabolism also varies from individual to individual. Classic example: Boys who hit that growth spurt age need amounts of food far beyond what’s written in all the books on the subject.

    As long as your kids are reasonably active and not seriously overweight you are probably all right. Get them to eat as many fruits and vegetables and whole grains as you can without stressing yourself or them. Restrict their sugar intake to a minimum so they burn fats and other carbohydrates for energy instead of storing them as fat.

Leave a Reply

