Boot Camp Journal – Day 10 {Cooked Cabbage & Increasing the Requirements}

This is the journal I am keeping about our “health(ier) eating boot camp.”  Feel free to read along!  

Tuesday, July 8

I was pretty brave today.  Not quite as brave as my sister when she towed a truck, but still…pretty brave.  I served cooked cabbage as the vegetable at lunch.  Yeah, I know…I’m brave…courageous, really.  My New World Dictionary defines “courage” like this:

“the attitude of facing and dealing with anything recognized a dangerous, difficult, or painful, instead of withdrawing from it; quality of being fearless or brave; valor”

For me, feeding my kids something that I know they will not like is both difficult and painful.  But, I felt like it was what I needed to do today — not to prove a point or anything like that — just simply because it fit the situation.  You see, we were going to have sandwiches for lunch.  I had planned to put the fixings on the table and let everyone prepare their own sandwich just the way they like it.  But we were supposed to go to the Library for an event and I got the time mixed up in my head.  I realized when I looked at the calendar that we needed to be there an hour earlier than I was planning on, and that meant we had to leave right away.  So, instead of preparing lunch, I grabbed a snack for the kids and headed out the door.

When we got home a little before 2:00, the sandwich idea no longer seemed practical (we had them for dinner instead, and I’m thrilled to say that I had a very happy family at dinner!).  But for now, I needed something fast, so I quickly thought through all the food groups ans what I could provide from each one.  For the vegetable group I didn’t have much to choose from, but I saw the cabbage that needed to be used up.  It would be quick and easy to fix (and I actually like it), and we needed to use it up or it would go to waste.  Prior to this boot camp experience I would have never even considered this as an option for lunch even with these factors.  But I reminded myself that this is exactly why I’m doing this — to empower myself to make decisions based on all of the factors rather than automatically vetoing an idea just because I know my kids won’t like it.  And no, my kids did not like it, but they each ate their allotted amounts (with some effort, of course!).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On a different note, my husband expressed to me once again on Sunday night that he does not think the “3 bites” rule is providing them with enough food to eat.  He said that maybe if they liked everything, and just ate 3 bites of one food that it would be OK, but we have both observed them eating three bites of just about everything that is on their plate.  He is right — at these meals they are not eating enough food.  Now, for the record, they have had plenty of meals where they like a lot of what is served too, and there has always been at least one item that they like at each meal, so they are definitely not starving.

Still, I feel that my husband’s concern is valid, so we are increasing the requirements for the oldest two kids.  The youngest is still struggling at times to even take one bite, let alone three, so her requirements are staying where they are for now.  But I decided to have the older kids eat at least 1/8 cup (a.k.a. 2 Tbsp) of everything.  {So, guess how much cabbage they ate at lunch today?  Yep, 1/8 cup…I’m so brave.)  Also, I’ve told them that after a week or two, we are going to increase the general amounts to 1/4 cup and that we are going to continue to raise the amount over time until we feel like they are eating close to what they need.  However, for something they find very difficult to eat (like the cabbage) I may decide to keep the required amount small until they either get more used to the taste or until I have compassion on them and eliminate the requirement to eat it all together.

So here we are:  the 3 bite rule has officially become the 1/8 cup rule.  It doesn’t sound quite as nice, but my kids ate more variety for dinner last night and again for lunch today, even with the addition of cooked cabbage!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Boot Camp Journal – Day 10 {Cooked Cabbage & Increasing the Requirements}

  1. Pingback: Boot Camp Journal – Day 11 {Your Opinion Wanted} | littlemissdebbie28

  2. Pingback: Boot Camp Journal – Day 12 {What Did I Do with All the Leftovers?} | littlemissdebbie28

Leave a Reply

