My 2015 Goals

I have actually been spending the past couple of months in a great debate within my own mind.  The debate being, “do I want to keep blogging?” and “do I like sharing my goals and my experiences so openly?”  So, what I decided to do is to finish what I started for 2014, and then make a new decision for the New Year.

And now, here I am in a new year, with new goals, and I’m still feeling some *blogging hesitancy*, but I’ve decided to just continue on.  I do like blogging…it’s different than writing in a personal journal.  For one thing, there is an actual audience to write to, even though I never know from one post to another exactly who the audience will be.  This is definitely helpful in my efforts to write well, and to be clear about what I want to accomplish.

I also love the interaction of blogging…reading other blogs, and getting to know a little bit about other people.  In doing this I like knowing that they can come to my blog and know something about me as well.  I could still read my favorite blogs without my own, of course, but I think I like it better this way.  So for now, I’m going to continue on with what I’m doing and see what 2015 brings!

Now – onto my goals.  I’m doing it a bit differently this year.  In addition to 3 personal goals, I’ve set some in a few other areas of my life as well.

Personal Goals:

  1. Take better care of my health (yep – a repeat from last year!!)
  2. Declutter my house (starting with my own bedroom)
  3. Improve my Spanish speaking and comprehension skills

Blogging Goals:

  1. Write a “Thankful Thursday” post once per month
  2. Include at least 8 of my favorite recipes (with pictures, of course!)
  3. Write about each of my “Personal Goals” at least once a quarter, and other goals listed on this page occasionally

Scripture Reading Goals:

(You can see that I’m breaking the “rule of 3” here.  But I’m confident that I can do this, and I really want to.)

  1. Read the entire New Testament (and some commentary from the Institute Manuals, and other resources)
  2. Read all of the talks from the previous General Conference before the next one
  3. Read the entire manual for Relief Society (Presidents of the Church – Ezra Taft Benson) before the end of the year (I have always read some lessons, but have never actually read every single one!)
  4. Read the book of Isaiah from the Old Testament along with additional commentary about it

Other Goals:

I have also set some family-type goals.  I decided these should be kept private, except for one:  I want to teach my youngest daughter to read using this book by the end of April.  She will start school in September, but she’s already 5 so I think she can do it.  And I feel like it will be good for her moral to be able to read a bit on her own.

“Set high goals for yourself, and be willing to work hard to achieve them.” –from: For the Strength of Youth, 2011 {click picture to view source}

I’m really excited about the fresh focus these {mostly} new goals bring.  I can’t wait to share what I’m doing and learning, and to hear what others are doing and learning as well 🙂 !

12 thoughts on “My 2015 Goals

  1. I have no doubt your daughter can do it. My mother taught me to read before I started school using books available from the public library. And this was before the days of Dr. Seuss. Good luck with Isaiah. You can do it. I did it a few years ago. It took me awhile but I did it.

    • Thanks for visiting my blog and for your comment! I really enjoyed reading your story. I could relate to so much of what you said! Do you mind if I re-blog it for my next “Thankful Thursday” post?

    • Hi Sarah! Thanks for visiting my blog! You definitely can be a “resolution copy-cat!” I love how we can share and get ideas from each other. And I love the words of the prophet and apostles…they are such a comfort and inspiration all year long.

  2. K I have that thought about blogging all the time! i just realized if I don’t make it my priority then it’s not stressful and just fun!! And I realized… even if I blog once a month then it keeps my blog going with little maintenance. GUESS WHAT…. we totally use that book …. we love it. This morning my 3 year old spent an hour with that reading book. It’s a really good tool. I want to blog about it soon. Good luck with your other goals too!! 🙂

    • Oh, I hope you do blog about using the “teach your child to read” book. I’d love to hear how it is for you. My friend told me about it when my older children were little, so this is the third time with it for me (though I didn’t completely finish the lessons with the other two). You are right…it is a great tool. And thanks for the encouragement with blogging. I’m glad you’ve been able to keep yours going even with the other things you are doing. I like reading it and seeing the pictures you post!

Leave a Reply

